Upstream Field Guide: Lesson 2 Who Are You Part 1-1

Describe Your Best Day Ever!

In lesson 2 I work through some exercises to find clues to discover who I truly am at the core – my preferences, strengths, weaknesses and ultimately my passions. Not what I want to be, or what others say I am or should be, or what I believe was true about me. It is time to start embracing what is reality. It stems from the fundamental belief that God creates each of us with a unique make up and gifts so we can enrich others in ways that only we can.

So I start off with trying to describe my best day ever! Through it I will gain clues about my desires and how I’m wired. If I have the whole day to myself and I have total control of it, what would I do?

I start the day fairly early after a night of restful sleep. There is no agenda for the day so I am completely free and unhurried. Everyone else is asleep and there is complete silence. I tidy up the house a little and ensure my space is clean and uncluttered. I down 2 glasses of purified water with some ACV to kick start my body and puts the kettle on the stove for a cup of herbal tea. I put a few drops of grounding EO blend in the diffuser and starts it while I take my shower. My bathroom is bright, clean and dry. After a pampering shower I step out to a lovely scented room which I have all to myself and starts to blow dry my hair. I change into something comfortable and settle down on a cozy couch with my herbal tea to start my devotional time with God and prayer.

I put together a simple and healthy breakfast and eats it while catching up on the day’s headline news on TV. Everyone else starts to wake and prepare themselves to leave for work and school. After cleaning up, I head out for a hike in the mountains with my daughter.

The fresh cool mountain air, lush greenery and scent of fresh dew in the woods is grounding for my soul. I feel like I can hide away from the world; like a sort  of refuge. My daughter makes good company. We chat about everything under the sun as we make our way up. After a while we seek out an open valley and take a break by a scenic stream surrounded by picturesque landscape and the gentle sound of rustling leaves and flowing water. We brought some snacks along and ate them as we enjoy the tranquility of the surroundings. For a change of energy we engage is some people-watching. We like that the crowd is just right, not too large. We then make our way up to one of the peaks for the awesome view. I soak in the liberating sensation of being on top of the world. Feeling small and insignificant in such massive spaces feels strangely comforting and reassuring; like it’s OK to be imperfect and make mistakes because the world is so much more than just me and my life.

After taking some Nat Geo worthy pictures  we make our way down, reaching the base in time for lunch at a cozy cottage style eatery overlooking the valley. We sat outdoors and enjoy a nice leisurely lunch before heading home.

At home I catch up on some updates on social media, check my emails and watch an episode or 2 of my favorite k-drama. The weather is beautiful outside so I hopped onto our garden swing with a soft blanket, a good book and a warm cup of tea and freshly baked scones. Soon I am asleep to the gentle lull of the swing and the sweet aroma of fresh flowers and herbs in the garden. It was a short nap but I wake up refreshed and energized.

I head out for a walk in the neighborhood with my daughter. I love the juxtaposition of old and new in this quaint neighborhood and the mix of energetic vibe and creative air. The people here are quietly warm and friendly, without imposing. The streets are filled with pretty and interesting things at every turn and corner. We enjoy our stroll exploring the alleys in this hilly neighborhood. Interesting cafes and tea houses with al-fresco sitting and scenic patios dotted the landscape. We stop by one to enjoy a cup of hot sweet potato latte and some fine cakes and pastries. On the street in front there’s a young busker playing the guitar and singing a ballad from one of my favorite K-drama OST.  We reminisce about old times, laughed and joked about how silly we were then. After picking up some desserts for dinner later, we stop by a florist that looks more like a greenhouse to pick out a cute potted daisy for our kitchen window. It’ll add more cheer to the place! Next to the florist is a small art gallery. We spotted a piece of fine Korean art and thought it’ll look great in the dining room so we got that too.

The free market is on today! We can’t miss it! We love the vibrant, carefree and bohemian atmosphere there. The plethora of things to see, taste and hear is fun and exciting. We pick-up a few interesting trinkets, accessories, handcrafted scents and wares and sampled some home-baked goods. Soon it’s time to head home. We chose to walk instead of taking the metro or public bus to avoid the crowd and congestion.

I look forward to meet my siblings and mom at my sister’s place for dinner tonight. Each of us takes turn to host a dinner every month. We enjoy catching up on each other’s lives as we bond over a home cooked meal. I get some work done on my laptop, freshen up and headed out with the family. We enjoy a nice meal together, laughing and chatting. After dinner we chill out at the patio with drinks and desserts. The night went by quickly and soon we’re headed home. I do some end-of-day tidying before winding down for the day. I diffuse a relaxing blend of EO and dim the lights as I prop myself up against the pillow on my bed and spends some time journaling and in prayer . I turn in early to ensure I am well rested for the next day.

rk

 

Leave a Reply

